Mary Wore a…Big Bag of Rice?

20 Jan

OK, this YouTube guy’s annoying and a little creepy, but my 8- and 10-year-old kids love watching his “Baby Baby” song parody (and singing it all over the house, all the time). While I don’t love watching or listening to this parody often, the two aspects of this video that I do like are: 1) This guy is playing with the lyrics and inventing his own — he’s composing; and, 2) He’s not what most would call a “performance level singer.” As my children grow older, they are starting to turn to cultural sources as models of how to proceed in life. All their lives, I’ve modeled singing no matter what I sound like (you should hear me sing at 6:30 am!) and making up my own words to songs. With video clips like this one, my children are able to see people in the broader cultural setting doing the same thing. Do the lyrics we make up have to make sense? No. (This guy suddenly throws in a line about a big bag of rice, for Pete’s sake). Do we have to sound like an American Idol winner in order to sing in front of millions? Clearly, no.

We sang our own, made-up lyrics to “Mary Wore a Red Dress” in class this week, and we didn’t care what we sounded like. That’s good stuff, and it’s fantastic to model that for our kids (while they’re still looking to us as their models). Maybe next week we’ll dress our kids in a “big bag of rice” for the song. Hey, it works for this YouTube guy.

3 Responses to “Mary Wore a…Big Bag of Rice?”

  1. Susan Darrow January 20, 2011 at 4:20 pm #

    Anne, this blog is awesome! I’m going to add it to my morning routine and check it daily – can’t wait to see how it evolves!

  2. annesailer January 20, 2011 at 8:10 pm #

    Thanks so much, Susan!

  3. Lindsay Fox January 21, 2011 at 3:27 pm #

    I agree with Susan! This is fantastic and very inspiring and now I’m audiating “Baby, Baby” so it’s time to go put my MT CD on instead!

Leave a Reply

