Follow Me UP to Carlow

17 Mar

I’ve got a little o’ the Irish in me, so I’m taking advantage of my lineage to celebrate St. Patty’s Day with a clip of the Young Dubliners playing a 200-year-old song, “Follow Me Up to Carlow.” This clip has a short interview at the beginning, so if you want to skip to the song, go to the 1:07 minute mark. It’s a bit different from the “Down to Carlow” we sing in class, isn’t it? (And, if you have any idea what the lyrics are, let me know!) I love this music.

One Response to “Follow Me UP to Carlow”

  1. David March 17, 2011 at 9:38 am #

    I’m not sure you want to know the words – found some lyrics on the intertubes –

    http://www.lyricsmania.com/follow_me_up_to_carlow_lyrics_young_dubliners,_the.html

    My favorite verse:

    From Tassagart to Clonmore,
    There flows a stream of Saxon gore
    Oh, great is Rory Oge O’More,
    At sending loons to Hades.
    White is sick and Grey is fled,
    And now for black FitzWilliam’s head
    We’ll send it over, dripping red,
    To Liza and her ladies.

Leave a Reply

