My “BIG” Excuse, and the Emotional Power of Music (grab a tissue)

7 Apr

So, even though I’ve been a posting fiend this week, I do realize that I was absent for the two weeks prior. I thought I’d take a minute to explain: My 10-year-old son (white tux, below) was in “BIG: The Musical” (based on the Tom Hanks movie). I donated two weeks of my time to help the production. The play was a hit; the kids pulled off a BIG show (pun intended) that was fun, poignant, and beautifully done.

Speaking of poignancy…we talk in class sometimes about how music connects us emotionally, and this show was full of songs that have a deep emotional impact. I could feel the audience pulling together at times throughout the show, when the music and lyrics carried a particularly heart-felt message, and it was a lovely sensation. Here’s an example: In the song, “Stop, Time,” the mom sings about how quickly a child grows up and is gone. Oh, boy, that’s heavy stuff for an audience of parents of 9- and 10-year-olds, and the song carried us all through those big emotions with grace.

Here’s a bit of the lyric:

“Nobody warns you of this parent’s paradox,
You want your kid to change and grow,
But when he does, another child you’ve just begun to know,
Leaves forever.”

And here’s a link to a Vimeo clip of the song, in case you’d like to hear it, too. Oh…and grab a tissue.
http://vimeo.com/10420603

Leave a Reply

