Hello, Buddy!

25 Oct

STORY FROM A MOM

Last week, a mom came into class with a “Hello Song” story. Over the weekend, her child had begun singing her own version of the song, but instead of singing “Hello, everybody…” she sang “Hello, Buddy…” I love it!

The “Hello Song” is deeply meaningful to children for many reasons, including that the song is a ritual they can count on, and rituals help children feel safe. (Heck, rituals help ME feel safe!) Because the “Hello Song” is so beloved, I’ve heard many stories about children singing it at home, in the car, etc. This story left me thinking about how fun it would be to sing in class, “Hello, Buddy, so glad to see you!” I like to think of everyone in class as my buddies, after all.

But, if I did that, I’d be making a fundamental change to the song that children count on to be the same every week — and that I cannot do. So, I’ll just have to settle for singing the “Buddy” version at home, instead (at least until my husband asks, “Who the heck is this ‘Buddy,’ anyway?”)

One Response to “Hello, Buddy!”

  1. Sarah Orfe October 25, 2011 at 1:01 pm #

    Love this! Brings back great memories of singing “Hello to Uncle Cherries…to Grandma Ketchup…to my bowl of chili…” with my own children not so many years ago. And I never tire, as a teacher, of hearing about how the hello song saved the day. Alexander’s parents sang it for over an hour to keep him from crying on a long road trip!

Leave a Reply

