It’s Lullaby Time: “Silent Night” or Zeppelin Rock?

23 Jan

Last week, I asked the moms in my babies class if they sing lullabies to their babies when it’s sleep-time. There was a ripple of sheepish murmuring, and then one mom said, “I realize that I don’t know many lullabies, so I’ve been singing ‘Silent Night’, even though it’s not Christmastime.”

I think this is great. Who cares if it’s not the “right time” for a certain song–if it’s what comes to mind when you’re soothing your baby at nap-time or bed-time, sing away! Heck, I know one dad who sings Led Zeppelin songs as lullabies (imagine: “Been a long time since I rocked and rolled,” sung softly and slowly–funny, but still a great lullaby).

TRY THIS AT HOME

Lullabies are a fantastic time for you to sing right to your child, one-on-one, with her head resting on your chest and feeling the vibrations of your voice radiating through her whole body. It doesn’t matter at all whether or not you think you can sing (though you most likely sing just fine)–your child needs to hear your voice (and there are probably no other grown-ups around to criticize you, anyway!). So, sit yourself down, snuggle your child close, and just sing the first song that comes to mind–and sing it slowly and softly. You’ll develop a routine of musical, close time with your child at bed-time, and hopefully the music will give YOU more “silent nights,” once your child is asleep.

3 Responses to “It’s Lullaby Time: “Silent Night” or Zeppelin Rock?”

  1. Megan Peterson January 23, 2012 at 5:24 pm #

    I’m another singer of Zeppelin, though I usually go with Stairway, Goin’ to California, and Battle of Evermore. The little guy also loves Crash Into Me (Dave Matthews). It’s fun sharing the music I love in a meaningful way at a time that will soothe him.

  2. Sarah Orfe January 24, 2012 at 11:50 am #

    Another great post! I believe the technical term is “Lullabalize”. 🙂

  3. annesailer January 24, 2012 at 2:49 pm #

    @Megan–How great to hear about your bedtime singing! I don’t know “Crash Into Me,” and now I’m curious… What you said about sharing the music you love is right on!

    @Sarah–So, if you sing just rocker songs to your child, can we call it “Lullapalooza”?

Leave a Reply

